top of page

UNBOUND

  • Writer's pictureMairi Watson

Project 2: Proposal Refinement

I decided to keep my original concept of food and how the food industry has changed since the time that our grandparents were young. I found the book "No one Eats Alone" by Michael Carolan and found it to be an interesting read. It consisted of interviews of people who were majorly invested in the food business from the conception of process foods. From the chapters I selected, it talks about how our cooking skills have been nicked as advertisers have ultimately convinced the majority of the North American population to eat from a box or tin. It also talks about our outlook on vegetables, having a bug, worm on a piece of corn for example is unacceptable, however, we have disregard the fact that in order for our vegetables to be ridden of bugs they need to be sprayed with pesticides.


Ideally, I would like people to read my book and reconsider their food habits. Processed foods are highly detrimental to the environment due to their plastic wrapping, so I would people to reconsider more waste free alternatives.



I would like for my book to resemble coupons as well as vintage advertisements. Which is why I am considering making a pop out booklet to further illustrate how advertisement has taken over the food industry.

As a source of inspiration, I looked at old fashioned ads.

I also looked at the way in which color was used.

First iterative layout. I found that the overlapping text approach was difficult to read.

I took pictures of processed food items as well as glorified vegetables.

I tried adding grain to my photographs to create a vintage look and feel. I am not sure if it's something I will continue with.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page