top of page

UNBOUND

  • Writer's pictureMairi Watson

Marquette & Layout Process

During the beginning of my process, I had a very different layout. I wanted to create a vibe that very much aligned with an old fashioned ad vibe.

I started constructing a Marquette of the type of pop-up that I was thinking of. However, it was difficult at first to figure out the dimensions so that the folded pop-up would be flush with the content of the book.

So I made a few iterations until I found the dimension that I was looking for.


I liked the idea of making a hidden pouch between each page. I wanted to put the subliminal ads that I made in the back of my book as the food business is always being backed up by advertisements.


After a lot of iterations, I decided to go with different fonts for each voice in my book. I was committed to printing, tapping and re scanning my printed text as it would produce the old fashioned vibe that I was going for. I also found that the threshold, noise, and distressed look to the text kind of helped make the fonts look more coherent together and created a visual connection. The tape also brought a fragmented unity to the text that I thought worked well.

This is a photo of me cutting and retaping the text back onto a white piece of paper.

During the scanning process, I scanned at different thresholds so I could work with scans at different intensities of black. I then went into Photoshop and selected the parts that were both legible but dark enough to see the tape. In total, I did 24 scans in different thresholds of each side of my 11x17 piece of paper.



I found the results to be very beautiful and unique.





I also did the same thing for the illustrations.


Before the scanning process, they looked like this.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page