top of page

UNBOUND

  • Writer's pictureMairi Watson

Project 1: Hello Poetry > Words > Poetry

My book consists of a collection of poems on climate change. For my concept, I chose to integrate the elegance factor of poetry and pair it with the weathered look of the environment. For the typeface, I chose FreightBig Pro Black designed by Joshua Darden and for the copy I used Calibre light designed by Klim Type Foundry. These pairings worked well with the worn out elegance that I wanted to portray in the production of the book.


The layout of my typography is fairly simple. However, what makes the book unique is the way the title is conveyed. I chose to group the titles of the poems together because I found a lot of the titles were the same especially those under "climate change" and "climate". The way in which the titles were placed allowed for them to be hidden by the poem pages which was a typographic way of illustrating the rise of sea levels. I also made the choice to number my pages with degrees to illustrate the rise in heat. In the middle of each section, I chose to add a white spread with pictures of dirt, ground and snow to further illustrate the changes in climate throughout the seasons. These images tied nicely with the abstract images in the back of the title pages.


For my book, I chose to do a very experimental binding. I chose to do sections that were sewn together using the pamphlet stitch. Once I had all the sections together I decided to perfect bind the spine of the sections together. I then added a small hard cover that was inline with the size of the poem pages inside.





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page